The eagle has landed

I definitely should have taken this picture from the other side, but you get the idea. My Welsh brother-in-law put this up for my benefit, but I’m sure it won’t be long until I look out the window and see the Welsh dragon flying from the balcony instead- which he tells me is the normal standard for the Green household.

As I expected, Australia is much better than England. Seriously, there is a reason that over a million Brits live here- and I’ve decided that after being in the country for less than 24 hours.

The flight was so easy. Emirates are a class airline, and despite a 23 hour total travel time (including a 2 hour stop-over in Dubai) time went pretty quickly. Put that together with free wine, beer a tonne of food and (almost) free Wi-Fi for both flights, it was a pretty tame induction to long haul flying. Although there was a bratty child sitting in front of me on the first leg asking his Dad why the plane wasn’t landing on his demand (if this kid wasn’t named Damien then I’d be shocked), even this wasn’t enough to dampen my spirits.

Unfortunately the drive from the airport to my sister’s was at 11pm local time, so I couldn’t see how stunning the scenery was in the dark, but this morning was a different story. It’s raining for the first time in 40 days, but it’s still about 18 degrees outside and we’re meant to be in winter.

The beaches look like they do in the pictures, not like a Big Mac where you see it on TV and think “that looks nice”, and then it gets served to you and it looks like Rebel Wilson sat on it. It’s actually even better in person. The sky also looks higher, I’m not sure if it’s something to do with the southern hemisphere or the size of the clouds, but everything just looks BIGGER. The sea, the beaches, and especially the houses. A bog-standard house over here would easily be a 750k house in the UK, you get so much more space for your money it’s no surprise that so many people trade pork pies for paradise .

This week looks like it’s going to be rain, which is good in a way because Australia likes to set itself on fire when it gets too dry, but next week is 25 degree heat and clear skies so I’ll post some jealousy-inducing pictures when it looks a little brighter. The rainy days will also give me a chance to bond with my niece who deserves a mention as she was the one who woke me up this morning- thanks again kiddo, you stopped Uncle James from being a lazy bastard.

In the meantime, I’m going to settle in, start work as soon as I can and get an Australian phone contract so that I can use data without getting shafted by EE. I’ll update this again as soon as the weather improves or I do something interesting.

Cheerio, chaps and chapettes.

One thought on “The eagle has landed

Leave a Reply

