Byron,views and overcoming writer’s block

It’s been a busy week, hence why it’s been a while since my last update. I know all three of you have been wondering what I’ve been up to, but fear not as I am back tapping away at the keyboard.

Well, really I’ve been tapping away all week. The views and constant change of scenery gave me some inspiration to finish a chapter of my book that I’ve been working on for literally months. Nothing seemed to fit and every time I tried to build the tension it seemed forced and rushed, until earlier this week when I cracked it and smashed out 2,000 words in about an hour and a half. Writing is a marathon, not a sprint, and I’m hoping that when I’m done slaving away at this bloody project that it will all be worthwhile.

Sorry, but I just had to restart my shitting laptop because my mouse wasn’t working. I thought I’d let you share the slight delay with me. Where was I? Okay, right. VIEWS.

My brother-in-law took me up to Murwillumbah a couple of days ago, and through a place called Dungay (some of you may know the area as they film ‘I’m A Celebrity’ close by here). The views were spectacular, as anyone who has me on Facebook or Instagram can see from the photos. You should appreciate them as well, Paul had to pull over in some pretty dodgy places for me to get those pictures- unless you’re Juliet reading this, in which case, they couldn’t have been safer places to park!

It’s even better for me because a few years ago, I spent the better part of a year in a flat ex marshland called March in The Fenlands, so being around hills is something that I appreciate much more these days as 10 months without them makes the world seem like an incredibly dull place.

The trip also gave me a good glimpse at Mount Warning- the bad boy mountain I’ll be climbing at 2:30am on September 11th.

Now we get onto Byron. Man what a place. I had a long shift the night before, and didn’t end up getting to sleep until late. I owe thanks to my sister who woke me up and told me to get my shit together and get ready so we could spend the day in one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen. I hobbled into the shower, and rolled into the car still dreaming. Luckily the lovely girls at Henna in Pottsville sorted me out with one of the best coffees I’ve ever tasted- so if you’re in the area, give their flat whites a go!

Of course, we went straight to the lighthouse, which is one of the main attractions in Byron Bay as this is the edge of the world. The most eastern point of mainland Australia is not only a nice place to say you’ve been, but the views are outstanding. From this one view point you can see beaches, mountains, vast ocean, surfers, whales, rock formations (I know, but I’m a geek for a good set of rocks) and on top of all that a lighthouse as pure and white as a Vanish advert.

It’s a good long walk, if you are a keen walker, then park further away and you’ll get some great exercise and witness the stunning views first hand. I didn’t get to explore too much of the town (that will be saved for my trip in November), but as you would expect it’s bohemian as fuck, right down to the long-haired middle-aged hippy in the dyed t-shirts asking for donations for his time machine. You keep plugging away, feller.

I’m so excited for November now. It’s only two full months away and I know pretty much where I’ll be and when- all that’s left to do now is book the thing. Oh, but to do that I need to get the bank to sort me out a card to use online. Yeah, that’s right, after waiting 2 weeks for my bank card, the fuckers gave me one where I can’t pay for things online. In the 21st century, in a 1st world country. Morons.

Anyways, other than that this place and its landscapes continue to amaze me. Being a complete scenery whore, this whole place is a bit of me, and I can’t wait to go and see more and more of it. As for this week I’m going to aim for a 35k round bike ride tomorrow and follow that up with a cheeky bit of fishing on Tuesday (I need to get on the YouTube video tutorials now or else I’m gonna look like a total city boy).

I’m going to leave it at that for now, and I’ll update soon (especially if I manage to actually catch something on my debut fishing trip). I hope everybody reading this is living their dream and has this life shit on lock.

You are all my friends, and you are all my fellow DJ’s.

Snapchat @jamesinaus

Instagram @malzjames

 

 

2 thoughts on “Byron,views and overcoming writer’s block

Leave a Reply

