Booking, planning, but not a lot of Travelling

I take a lot of photos of the ocean. Mainly because it’s a good bit of clickbait for people to visit and read my blog, but also because it always looks to me like the closest thing you can get to paradise- and that’s something I need to remind myself of sometimes.

I haven’t done a lot of new things in the last week in truth, but I also don’t like leaving long gaps between posts. So sometimes you’re going to get these “filler” posts that are a bit more of a journal entry. I’m still at the stage where I’m not sure which direction this blog will go in, whether it turns into a more informative “go here” style travel blog, or more of a personal diary-type blog that details my travels.

Australia has very much become home to me now, and with home comes certain comforts, but at the same time too much comfort can be a bad thing. Comfort can lead you into idleness and idleness can cause stagnation when writing about something that’s meant to excite and inspire people like travelling. It is for that reason I’ve been filling spaces before and after work by planning some pretty cool shit for my road trip next month- where the real excitement starts.

I booked my skydive for one. The best part is I booked the Gold Package, so I get a 5-7 minute video of my death  dive, which is more likely than not going to be a source of embarrassment rather than pride when I watch it back. I keep thinking about the moment I fall out of the plane and my stomach sinks as if I’m actually doing it, but it doesn’t put me off, if anything that makes me want to do it more.

I’m thankful that I live in an age where my desire get a shot of adrenaline is supported with the peace of mind that I’m in safe hands and I’m highly unlikely to actually die doing this sort of stuff. Is that tempting fate? No. This is tempting fate: “Hey fate, bet you can’t kill me ;).”

I’ve also been all over couchsurfing looking for places to stay in place of hostels as I want to keep the trip as cost-effective as possible, and this seems like a great way to meet other nutcases who let strange people sleep in their houses. Knowing my luck I’ll be top and tail with Ivan Milat. In any case, the preparations are getting to the point where the details are starting to matter, and the next 23 days are going to be all about getting my timings right so I can do all the things I would like to do.

 A lot of people ask me why I’m travelling solo, rather than with someone. Well besides the fact I’ll be staying with a lot of family and it’s incredibly hard to find someone else to invest the money I have into this sort of trip- the truth is, it would ruin it a bit for me.

I can think of about 10 people off the top of my head who I could easily travel with, wouldn’t get offended if I wanted to split and would be up for doing the same things I wanted to do, but having someone there for me is too much of a safety net. No matter what happens, you’ve got someone to hang out with, someone to talk to and someone to talk sense into you. That leads to comfort, which as we discussed…yeah yeah, idleness.

The only way for me to travel is by myself because it’s the only way I’m going to force myself to meet new people and truly get to know them, rather than sticking close with a buddy and doing everything with them. I’m sure I will travel like that in future, but that was never going to be the case for my first trip around Australia. For me, this trip has to be my experience and mine alone.

It’s also strange how quickly life normalises based on what you’re doing. When I say I haven’t done a lot in the past week, what I mean is, I haven’t done anything new. I’ve still been fishing, swimming, paddle boarding and even visited a beautiful place called the Natural Bridge at Springbrook, but all of this is sort of standard activity now. I still love it and really enjoy it all, but there’s only so much I can write about one activity before it becomes repetitive.

A week of what would have once been exciting new adventures is now just really cool stuff that I like doing, but requires no more mention than what I had for breakfast (cereal in case you were wondering). This isn’t a bad thing. For every time I feel idle, I will endeavor to do something even more exciting and fresh. Whether this means jumping out of a plane, diving to 20 metres below sea level or swimming with sharks, I will continue to do ever-increasingly fun shit in order to keep things fresh. That’s not just a vow I’m making to the blog, but also to myself.

In the meantime, if you have some downtime and want to see what else I’ve been up to lately, I’ve been writing a lot more with inspiration from my op shop books, spotify and recommendations from the Bernman. So if you fancy reading some of my creative writing then pop over to athoughtforgotten.wordpress.com to revel in my innermost thoughts.

For now I’m going to go back to my reading before I get ready for work. If you haven’t already then follow me on wordpress and instagram (below) and maybe one day I’ll get enough attention that tourism boards start letting me do shit like skydiving for free- a man can dream!

Once again, thank you for reading!

Goodbye…go on…off you fuck.

IG: malzjames

SC: jamesinaus

 

Leave a Reply

