Aussie Road Trip: Sydney 

The last two days have been eventful.

I arrived in the Sydney subburb of Granville yesterday afternoon to an immediate offering of food and drink from my wonderful 2nd cousin, Judy and great aunt, Voni.

We talked for hours about old stories about my Dad and his family, while the US election heated up in the background. Judy has a special place in my immediate family’s hearts as she was the catalyst who reuinited my Dad with his long-lost daughter (and my top sister), Juliet.
That’s a story for another day, especially as I’m sure most of you already know it!

My favourite story from the day was actually about my Uncle Garry. Voni and Judy were on a train home one day from a night in Sydney. They boarded the train and spotted a suspicious looking gentleman with a big bushy beard and slightly disheveled appearance tucked away in the corner of the carriage. Voni, concerned about their safety decided to sit away from the man and carried on in peace. A few moments later the guy rose from his seat, turned his head and said…

“Is that you, aunt?”

Shocked she was at this man’s approach until she realised the scary dude in the corner was her own nephew. Another lesson in not judging a book by its cover.

It’s a sweet story in hindsight, as anyone in a big city will know, bumping into anyone you know is a huge coincidende, let alone a family member.

On the subject of uncles, I paid a visit to my late Uncle Denis today. You may or may not know that I’m named after him- James Denis Malzard and that is where the Denis is from.

I won’t say much, because it was a very personal experience, but it felt great wiping away the leaves from his plot and having a chat with him. Hopefully somewhere he knows that his family are thinking of him.

I arrived in Sydney city at 2pm today and ran out into the streets almost immediately after dumping my stuff in my room at the hostel. I met up with another traveler and fellow couchsurfer who showed me the city and took some awesome snaps of me like the disgraceful tourist I am.

This was one of my favourites. It was a beautiful, sunny day and I took some great pictures (if I do say so myself). There’s a nice atmosphere in Sydney- busy, but not overcrowded. It beats London hands down in everything, but especially transport!

Double decker busses? Nah fam, try DOUBLE DECKER TUBE TRAINS!

Yeah, and on top of that they are air – conditioned! I know, right?

It really is stunning. After a drink at the Opera House, we went on an adventure to the Harbour Bridge and took some awesome photos of the views. Here are a couple to give you a taste of this city’s beauty!

I saw so much today that I’m gonna really need to get my tourist on tomorrow to find some hidden gems….suppose I’m gonna have to go chat up some locals- what a hard life I lead.

Thank you again to Judy and Voni for looking after me, I had a really wonderful time. And thank you also to my new friend Chadra for showing me around and introducing me to this awesome place!

More photobombing and selfies next ttime- my pout is on point here.

Thank you for reading!

Bye Everybody!

IG: malzjames

SC: jamesinaus

One thought on “Aussie Road Trip: Sydney 

Leave a Reply

