Mount Tamborine: Treetop Challenge!

received_10209140076234299

Yesterday I got back to my adventuring ways and I’m not going to lie, this was one of the best days out I’ve had since I’ve been here. It had a little bit of everything- fantastic views, an awesome car ride, good weather and something I haven’t done before. On top of all of that, it just so happened to be up in the mountains, which is one of my favourite places to get away.

received_10209140051953692.jpeg

Mount Tamborine is located about 40km west of Surfer’s Paradise and is a popular destination for tourists and twats like me who like getting scenic pictures to put on Facebook and Instagram. At the first lookout point on our way up the mountain we got to see paragliders take the leap, which was a pretty cool sight. Especially seeing how they waited for the perfect wind conditions before setting off, which was even better as everyone was trying to get a video of it and every time he looked to move, he changed his mind. I still reckon he was doing it on purpose.

20170326_121357.jpg

The lookout was beautiful. From certain spots you could see the skyscrapers of Surfer’s Paradise and the little settlements dotted around the valleys and the forests. I love a landscape, and this one was so clear and unobstructed that I spent a good few minutes just staring out across the horizon.

received_10209140079714386.jpeg

The Treetop Challenge was about another fifteen minutes up the mountain. Although it looks pretty touristy, it certainly doesn’t feel like it. The park features several obstacle courses that are set up high into the trees where you climb, swing, drag, pull and fly your way between various treetop platforms. The courses get higher and harder as you go along and you end up with bruises, scratches and aching muscles the following day. But damn it was fun and a complete bargain for $50 per person.

received_10209140078154347.jpeg

There are almost ten flying foxes (ziplines for my English friends) that you set up yourself. The harnesses work in a way so that you are always attached to the cables and it’s impossible to fall out of the trees no matter how much of an idiot you are. I mean if you really tried I guess you could, but then that’s just natural selection playing its part.

This was one of the things I noticed and have noticed about Australia in general. There is very much an air of trusting people’s common sense without babysitting them. If this park was in the UK, there would be warning signs everywhere and a staff member on every platform and no doubt a group of dickheads slowing up everybody else, but in Australia you are left to your own devices. The supervisors are there if you get into a bit of a jam, but very rarely would they actually be needed. This is one of the things I love about Australia. These parks aren’t afraid of lawsuits and babying people, they let them get on with it and have fun and if they do end up doing something stupid then it’s the person’s own fault. I love that.

received_10209140081474430

When I first got to Australia I struggled getting up rocks. Now I’m swinging from trees like Tarzan, climbing mountains and jumping out of planes. I feel like I’m a bit braver since I’ve come out here and that’s probably a lot down to the people I’ve been spending time with. Aussies trust in themselves and what they’re capable of and encourage you to do the same, whether its jumping from jagged rock to jagged rock or swinging from tree branches, I’m lucky I’ve met the people I have that aren’t afraid to do cool shit and will happily trade a good story for a bump or a scrape. I feel like that’s the only way to be.

I think it is the memories of these sorts of adventures that will stick with me when I get back to the UK. It makes me think about all of the things, not just in Australia, but also in England that are so readily available and so much cheaper than a night out in most cases and how much more enjoyable they are than waking up with a sore head and too many regrets to count on one hand. Maybe I’m just growing up, or maybe I’m just boring now, but I know I would take these days out over nights out any day of the week.

Thanks for reading!

Goodbye and watch out for that tree!

SC: jamesinaus

IG: malzjames

 

Leave a Reply

