Two Hitchhikers, One Car

17692543_10154382981261361_784781135_o

Cyclone Debbie is a remorseless and angry Sheila. One of Mother Nature’s feisty minions has been causing havoc in Queensland over the past couple of days, and now the craziness has paid us a visit on the New South Wales border. Hell hath no fury as a woman scorned and someone must have really pissed in this chick’s Weetabix to have the rain we’re having now. Apparently another 500mm of rain is expected over the next 24 hours, so if you’ve got any plans to do anything fun over the next couple of days then put them on hold, sit on the sofa and enjoy the excuse to nap, sit in your pants and binge-watch Netflix.

8393244-3x2-940x627

For all of my friends and relatives in areas of flooding- stay safe and don’t be a hero.

Fortunately, yesterday was bright and sunny. In a ‘calm before the storm’ sort of day, it was blisteringly hot, but stunningly bright and sunny. So really, it was the perfect day for this blog’s biggest fan to pay me a visit. My friend Danielle has been in Australia since November and has travelled from Surfers to Sydney and is now living it up in Bris Vegas and trying to resist the urge to get white girl wasted whenever the temptation arises. Where I live in Northern Rivers is by no means party central, so for someone looking to spend a couple of nights out of the city, this was the perfect retreat.

I remember when I first came to this part of Australia. I was absolutely blown away by the scenery and the landscapes that it had to offer, not only how beautiful they are, but also the variety and the abundance that was available. With this in mind, I showed Danielle some of the spots that I fell in love with when I first came here.

CURRUMBIN

The first spot was Currumbin Beach. When I first came here I couldn’t believe the views. Surfer’s Paradise off in the distance combined with a sprawling white sand beach and a SLSC available to view it all with a beer in hand was my first taste of paradise in Australia, and Danielle was equally impressed. Unfortunately Cyclone Debbie’s aftermath was quickly following us south, so we set-off for our next spot so we could enjoy as much of the sun as possible. That was when we when to Brunswick Heads.

Due to Australia being a bit of a dick basket, Brunswick Heads this time around was a bit of an anti-climax due to the tide being out and the creek looking murkier than Donald Trump’s bathwater, but here is how it is supposed to look on a good day:

20160920_120732

Despite the fact that Brunswick was having a no make-up day, I still managed to salvage the trip to my favourite fish and chip shop in the town, which I’ve been to pretty much every time I’ve been there. The grub more than made up for the shitty views. After lunch, we cracked on to the main attraction; Byron Bay.

2016-08-25 12.40.56.jpg

Byron Bay as usual did not disappoint, and after showing Danielle the main attractions of Cape Byron and The Beach Hotel, we headed home, but not before picking up a hitchhiker who for privacy purposes will be named Al.

The Story of Al, the visionary. 

Where to begin with Al? We could start with the visionary art, or even the fact that this legend sold magic mushrooms while he was in art school, but I think the real way to begin is by saying that this dude was by far and away the most BYRON person I have ever met in my life. It was an absolute privilege to be in this man’s company, even for such a short time. If he had dreadlocks and a girlfriend named India who didn’t eat anything that drinks water, then the picture would have been complete.

We took Al to an art exhibition where he was showcasing his visionary art in Mullumbimby. He spoke to us about his healing process, about the energy of Byron Bay and the divine experiences he had whilst off his absolute tits on shrooms. I couldn’t believe what was happening. I was in awe of this scene that was taking place whilst Danielle frantically wrote down everything this guy was saying in order for us to revise the wisdom later on.

We were both made richer for the experience and if Danielle is really nice, I’m sure she might even share some screenshots of the conversation we were having in a comment on this blog or on Facebook. I may think I’m spiritual while meditating for fifteen minutes after watching the final scene of The Karate Kid and looking up karate schools for grown ass men or putting a gumtree add out for an Okinawan father figure, but if this guy hasn’t reached enlightenment yet then I haven’t got a Buddha’s hope in a salad bar.

In all seriousness though, this guy was absolutely lovely and also very passionate about his art and lifestyle. Fair dinkum to the bloke for following his dreams and not giving a flying fuck about anything but being a happy, healed soul. What a bloke. On top of that, it was the first time I picked up a hitchhiker and I didn’t even get murdered, which is also a massive bonus.

Eventually Cyclone Debbie decided to go full bitch mode and wash out the entirety of Northern NSW. This sucked because it meant I had to drop off Danielle early or risk her being stranded. Despite the short and sweet nature of the visit, I had an awesome time and it was cool being able to see the places that I’ve now grown used to through fresh eyes once more. Danielle has been a constant supporter of me writing this blog, so it was great to finally get to meet up with her while she was here, and fingers crossed it won’t be the last time either.

So thanks to Danielle for the visit and the impeccable taste in music , and also to Al for giving me a story that I will always find an excuse to tell, I really hope he makes a mint on his paintings and ends up as the Buddha of Byron Bay. I will be back soon with a blog about something else I’ve done over the last couple of months, so sit tight and enjoy these while I have the motivation to do them.

Thanks for reading!

Goodbye and harness your energy in order to heal… ya fuckwits.

SC: jamesinaus

IG: malzjames

 

Leave a Reply

